Path to Licensure

Real estate is a dynamic service industry that offers its constituents meaningful change and rewards. If you are interested in becoming a real estate agent in northwest Florida, you are in the right place!

Licensing Requirements

The state of Florida mandates that all real estate candidates meet the following requirements.

  • You must be 18 years old to apply for a real estate license.
  • You must hold a high school diploma or equivalent GED.
  • You must have a valid Social Security number, but you do not have to be a US citizen or a Florida resident to apply for licensure.
  • You must complete and pass an accredited, 63-hour, pre-licensure course for real estate sale associates.

Application Process

We suggest you apply for your Florida Real Estate Sales Associate license as soon as possible after passing your 63-hour, pre-licensure course. You will need authorization to be eligible to sit for the state exam. A complete application includes:

  • A background check release and fingerprint scan completed according to Florida law. (TEAM Hughes students may fulfill this requirement during class time for $60. We use Personal Security Concepts.)
  • A passing (70 or higher) final examination score from your pre-licensure course. 

State Testing

Once your application has been processed, Pearson Vue will send you a candidate number. You will use this number to schedule your state exam. Pearson Vue will automatically report your score to DBPR, and your application will be finalized. If you do not pass your state exam on the first attempt, you may reschedule and retake the test after 24 hours.

Now What?

You will receive your exam results immediately upon completing your test with Pearson Vue. You may use those test results to begin your search for the perfect broker. According to state regulations, all licensed sales associates must work under a qualifying broker for a minimum of two years. You should receive your license in a couple of weeks.

Within the first two years of licensure, you will need to complete 14 hours of continuing education to fulfill state requirements. (TEAM Hughes alumni can complete those hours free of charge!) You may also find it beneficial to find a mentor during the first few years of practice to help get your career off the ground. Again, TEAM Hughes is here to help you succeed. We’d love to be a part of your success story!